Postscript: Events, Awards, and Extras


Lavender Graduation

Bill Bowers will be performing, iT GOES WiTHOUTH SAYiNG at the Howell Theatre in the UNL Temple Building at 8 pm on April 1, 2010 and two plays, written by David Csontos will be shown on Monday nights in April at the NU Auditorium, My Night with Rock Hudson (expanded version, original version first shown in October 2009 at UNL) and I Am My Imaginary FriendThe plays have been accepted into the Kansas City Fringe Festival!

Star City Pride 2010 is held in Lincoln, July 16 - 18.

Nebraska Pride 2010 is the 25th anniversary and will be held in Omaha, July 1 - 4.

Eighth annual LGBTQA History Month Dinner planned for October 21, 2010 at the Embassy Suites with Jewelle Gomez, author of The Gilda Stories, as keynote.


This picture of Jim Cole is from the recent reception where he received the 2010 Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Contributions to the GLBT Community at UNL. Jim was instrumental as an ally in being the public spokesperson for the class Lou coordinated and has recently been advocating for our community in speaking out and testifying at the legislature about not changing the guidelines for psycholgists to allow them not to refer individuals they don't like (ie, LGBT people). The NE Catholic Conference has been advocating this change so that not only would counselors not have to treat someone based on their values but would not have to refer either.

UNL Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contributions to the GLBT Community 2000 Vern Williams 2001 Luis Diaz-Perdomo 2002 Barbara DiBernard and Pat Tetreault 2003 Lou Crompton and George Wolf 2004 Robert “Bob” Brown, Linda Major and James Griesen, English Dept. 2005 Joy Ritchie 2006 Debra Hope 2007 Jan Deeds and Father Don Hanway 2008 Debbie Krahmer 2009 William “Bill” Waters 2010 James (Jim) Cole

Student GLBT Award Recipients: 2009 Heath Harding 2008 Greg Gifford 2008 Amanda Garrett 2007 Allen Ratliff 2006 QSA/SPECTRUM Transition Team 2005 Kris Gandara 2004 Dan Franks 2003 Ryan Fette

Listing with Affiliations and Student Awards 2010 Dr. James (Jim) Cole Faculty, Psychology Department

2009 Bill Waters OASIS/the Culture Center

2008 Debbie Krahmer University Libraries

2007 Janice Deeds Student Involvement and

2007 Father Don Hanway, Retired Pastor, St. Mark’s on the Campus & CGLBTC

2007 Student Award Allen Ratliff

2006 Debra Anne Hope Psychology

2006 Student award Spectrum/QSA Transition Team UNL

2005 Joy S Ritchie English

2005 Student award Kris Gandara

2004 English Department College of Arts & Sciences

2004 Robert D Brown Emeritus Educational Psychology

2004 James V Griesen Student Affairs and

2004 Linda Major Student Involvement

2004 Student Award Dan Franks

2003 Louis Crompton Emeritus English and

2003 George E Wolf Emeritus English

2003 Student Award Ryan Fette

2002 Barbara DiBernard English and

2002 Pat Tetreault University Health Center

2001 Luis Diaz-Perdomo University Health Center

2000 Vern Williams Career Services

Some Acronyms: LGBTQA = Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and ALLY GLSA = Gay, Lesbian Student Alliance UAAD = University Association for Administrative Development CGLBTC = Committee on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Concerns ASUN = Association of Students of the University of NE UPC = University Program Council RHA = Residence Hall Association